The Department has many awards to recognize the outstanding achievements of students, faculty and industry supporters. These awards testify to the excellence of the program and all who contribute to the quality and reputation of the Construction Science Department.


  • The Gene Murphree - AGC Award: This award is sponsored by the Houston chapter of the Associated General Contractors and is given to the top undergraduate in each graduating class as determined by vote of graduating students and faculty. The award is named in honor of Samuel Eugene "Gene" Murphree Jr. '45.
  • Cumberland Craftsman Award: Craig and Wendy Cumberland established this award in honor of Craig's father, Larry Cumberland '71, a graduate of the program. The award is given to a graduating senior who has earned the respect of his peers by hard work, attention to detail, and willingness to go above and beyond the call of duty to support others.
  • Outstanding Graduate Student: An outstanding graduate student is selected in each graduating class by vote of the graduating students and the faculty.


  • Fluor Outstanding Educator: Each graduating class elects a faculty member to be recognized for teaching excellence.  Through a generous donation from Fluor Corporation, the winner of this award receives a $1,500 stipend.
  • Outstanding Student Advocate: Graduating seniors select a faculty member who is recognized for supporting students in all aspects of the program.
  • Research Excellence Award: Given to a faculty member who has demonstrated excellence in scholarship and research.


  • Constructor Hall of Fame: The Construction Industry Advisory Council selects an individual from the industry who has distinguished himself/herself in the industry and been a supporter of the Construction Science program.
  • Distinguished Service Award: Given every other year to the outgoing President of the Construction Industry Advisory Council.